Acclaim Law Group
Are There Statutes of Limitations on Personal Injury Claims?
The answer is Yes!
Each state sets up limits for the amount of time you are able to file a lawsuit in civil court after suffering from some type of injury. For personal injury cases in California, the statute of limitations gives an individual two years from the date of the accident to go to court and file a lawsuit against the at fault party.
A special circumstance to this two-year rule is if the victim is a minor. The statute of limitations does not begin to run its two-year time limit until the minor turns 18.
If you are filing a claim against the city, county, or California state government agency you the time is even shorter as you typically only have six months to file a claim with the responsible entity. The government then has the option to accept or reject the claim within 45 days. If the government rejects all or part of the claim or does not respond within those 45 days, the injured party is able to file a lawsuit in court.
If you have been in an accident and not sure of your rights, contact a San Diego injury attorney at Acclaim Law Group with any questions.
While we always seek to establish accuracy when publishing articles, this piece is not intended to provide legal advice, and should not be used as such. Each individual case will differ and should be discussed with an attorney or legal expert. If you would like to inquire about pursuing a claim, please contact us at (858) 252-0781 or email firstname.lastname@example.org