California's Tort Law - Auto Accident
Automobile insurance/financially responsibly coverage can varies depending on the state you live. California law requires the driver of an operating vehicle to carry automobile insurance, with a minimum of 15/30, meaning $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident. Under California Insurance Code (§11580.1b), the minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles are follows:
· $15,000 for injury/death to one person. If someone is injured in an accident that you cause, this will cover damages (medical bills etc..) for one person.
· $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
· $5,000 for damage to property. Pays for damages to other people’s property in an accident which you were at fault.
“Liability insurance compensates a person other than the policy holder for personal injury or property damage. Comprehensive or collision insurance does not meet vehicle financial responsibility requirements.” https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/file/financial-responsibility-insurance-requirements-for-vehicle-registration-ffvr-18-pdf/ Thus, you are not required to have collision coverage on your vehicle, but you must carry liability coverage.
Being involved in an auto accident can be overwhelming and can be frustrating when dealing with an insurance company. Call a San Diego injury attorney like Acclaim Law Group to see how they can help.
Disclaimer: While we always seek to establish accuracy when publishing articles, this piece is not intended to provide legal advice, and should not be used as such. Each individual case will differ and should be discussed with an attorney or legal expert. If you would like to inquire about pursuing a claim, please contact us at (858) 560-0781 or email firstname.lastname@example.org